Rewilding

What is rewilding – why is rewilding important?

Discover more

Rewilding

What is rewilding – why is rewilding important?

Discover more

Our work

Our commitment to the Oder Delta

Discover more

Our work

Our commitment to the Oder Delta

Discover more

Projects

For more biodiversity

Projects

For more biodiversity

Projects

For thriving habitats

Projects

For thriving habitats

 

Wild Oder Delta

 

On the Baltic coast between Poland and Germany lies a very special treasure: the Oder Delta rewilding area, comprising 70,000 hectares of the centrally located Stettin Lagoon and 380,000 hectares of surrounding forest and open landscape.

 

Its strategic location at one of the ecological hubs in Europe makes the Oder Delta one of the most attractive and ecologically widely unspoiled natural areas of Central Europe. Beech forests on steep coasts, huge river deltas and lagoons, extensive river valleys, riparian forests, wetlands, dry heathlands, and widespread forests with lakes trim the waters of the lagoon like a pearl necklace. This fascinating mosaic of ecosystems is home to a wide variety of animals and plants that is now rare in Central Europe.

 


Ample space for wildlife

 

In large parts of the Oder Delta nature evolves without human intervention, allowing wildlife to return and recover on its own. Sea eagles, moose, wolves, beavers, and rare species of fish including sturgeon live here. Grey seals are returning slowly, the first lynxesare exploring the area, and just 50 km to the east, herds of European bison– the European sister species to the American bison – roam free through the plains of Western Pomerania. The Stettin Lagoon is also a popular resting place for migrating birds from the north and an important winter home for hundreds of thousands of waterbirds.

Solvin Zankl/Rewilding Europe

Experience nature first-hand

 

More and more nature lovers are discovering the region known as „The Amazon of the North”, which is still hidden between the overcrowded Baltic beaches in the north and the big cities of Stettin and Berlin in the south. A continually developing, high-quality range of nature tourism experiences – such as those offered by the European Safari Company and the Nature Guides Network – is increasingly attracting visitors and opening up new sources of income for this structurally weak region.

Our vision

Implementing our vision will make the cross-border Oder Delta region an exciting rewilding experience.

WHAT IS REWILDING?
More
WILDLIFE COMEBACK
More
WILDER NATURE
More
NATURE-BASED ECONOMIES
More

NEWS

Financing partners

This project is funded by the European Regional Development Fund

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Solvin Zankl/Rewilding Europe

Rewilding

Was ist Rewilding – wieso ist Rewilding wichtig?

Mehr entdecken

Solvin Zankl / Rewilding Europe

Rewilding

Was ist Rewilding – wieso ist Rewilding wichtig?

Mehr entdecken

Unsere Arbeit

Unser Engagement im Oder Delta

Mehr entdecken

Solvin Zankl/Rewilding Europe

Unsere Arbeit

Unser Engagement im Oder Delta

Mehr entdecken

Projekte

Für eine bunte Artenvielfalt

Staffan Widstrand / Rewilding Europe

Projekte

Für eine bunte Artenvielfalt

Projekte

Für vitale Lebensräume

Solvin Zankl/Rewilding Europe

Projekte

Für vitale Lebensräume

 

Wildes Oder Delta

 

An der Ostseeküste zwischen Polen und Deutschland befindet sich ein ganz besonderes Kleinod: das zentral gelegene Stettiner Haff mit seiner 70.000 ha großen Wasserfläche formiert sich inmitten umliegender Wälder und Offenlandschaften zu dem insgesamt 450.000 ha großen Gebiet Rewilding Oder Delta.

 

Seine strategische Lage an einem der ökologischen Knotenpunkte in Europa macht das Oder Delta zu einem der attraktivsten und ökologisch weitflächig unversehrten Naturgebiete Mitteleuropas. Buchenwälder auf Steilküsten, riesige Flussdeltas und Lagunen, ausgedehnte Flussniederungen sowie Auwälder, Moore, trockene Heidelandschaften und großflächige Wälder mit Seen reihen sich wie eine Perlenkette rings um die Wasserflächen des Haffs. In diesem faszinierenden Landschaftsmosaik lebt eine bunte Vielfalt von Tieren und Pflanzen, die es so in Mitteleuropa kaum noch gibt.

 


Solvin Zankl/Rewilding Europe

Viel Platz für wilde Tiere

 

In weiten Teilen des Oder Delta Gebiets entwickelt sich die Natur ohne menschliche Eingriffe in Ruhe von alleine und die Tierwelt kehrt zurück. Seeadler, Elch, Wolf, Biber und seltene Fischarten wie der Stör leben hier. Die Kegelrobbe siedelt sich wieder an, erste Luchse erkunden die Gegend und nur 50 km östlich ziehen mehrere Herden des Wisents, der europäischen Schwesterart des amerikanischen Bisons, frei durch die Ebenen Westpommerns. Zudem ist das Stettiner Haff ein beliebter Rastplatz für Zugvögel aus dem Norden und ein wichtiges Winterquartier für Hunderttausende von Wasservögeln.

Solvin Zankl/Rewilding Europe

Natur hautnah erleben

 

Immer mehr Naturliebhaber entdecken die Region als „Amazonas des Nordens”, die zwischen den überlaufenen Ostseestränden im Norden und den Großstädten Stettin und Berlin im Süden noch im Verborgenen liegt. Ein sich stetig entwickelndes und qualitativ hochwertiges Angebot von naturtouristischen Erlebnissen, die z.B. das Nature Guides Network oder die European Safari Company anbieten, begeistert die Besucher zunehmend und eröffnet der strukturschwachen Region neue Einnahmequellen.

Unsere Vision

Die Umsetzung unserer Vision wird das grenzüberschreitende Oder Delta zu einem aufregenden Rewilding-Erlebnis machen.

Rewilding erklären
Mehr
Rückkehr der Wildtiere
Mehr
Lebensräume vernetzen
Mehr
Naturnahe Wirtschaft
Mehr

Mit finanzieller Unterstützung durch

Dieses Projekt wird durch die Europäische Union aus Mitteln des Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung unterstützt
(Fonds für kleine Projekte Interreg V A Mecklenburg-Vorpommern / Brandenburg / Polen in der Euroregion Pomerania)

  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.